A new technique; the morning pages

julia-cameron-morning-pages

A good friend of mine suggested this technique. Each morning write 3 pages of A4 as a stream of consciousness ie; no editing, just free writing. Write as soon as you wake. Julia Cameron devised what she called The Morning Pages in her book “The Artist’s Way”and it has now become a practise followed by many writers. 

Always ready for a new challenge and up for learning new techniques, I began this morning. It’s half term school holidays, so I was in bed later than usual. At 8.15am I began writing and 20 minutes later I had my 3 pages. 

The unexpected benefit I found, was the peacefulness that I experienced whilst writing. The words and content didn’t matter. I had to stop myself editing at times, but a strange sense of freedom arose. Perhaps by knowing the work is not intended to be read by anyone else, removed any external pressures? Whatever forces were in play, I shall be trying it again tomorrow to see where this path leads. Tomorrow my alarm goes off at 6.10am, will my eyes be able to focus that early? 

Try it for yourself; google The Morning Pages. If you already use this method, let me know what you think. Do you find it useful?

2 thoughts on “A new technique; the morning pages

  1. You get it! 🙂

    So glad it’s working out for you. It never did for me, but I know many writers swear by it.

    I do my writing between 9 and twelve, with many tea and toilet breaks 🙂 That works best for me. One secret to writing is to try new things out and then stick with something you like for a while. If things get stale, try something new.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve kept this practice up for a fortnight and I’m finding it’s getting easier to write early in the morning. When the alarm goes off I’m actually excited to switch on the lamp and begin. I’m tempted to write longer, but the school run and daily commute beckons, so I have to put the pen down. It’s so quiet and comfortable though, it’s a great start to the day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

