Nose-blowing Days

Day 1 – Napowrimo challenge (or how to make a fool of yourself online!)

As promised, warned, threatened; here is my attempt at the Napowrimo challenge, to write a poem every day for the whole of April.

blog2

In the name of creativity, I sacrifice my virtual ‘street cred’. Actually, as I’ve not yet earnt a shred of street cred, I guess there’s nothing to lose and everything, in terms of developing my poetry skills, to gain.

blog13

I ask of my non-poet friends; be kind, and bear with me.

I ask any poets out there, to be harsh.

Any advice or guidance will be welcomed.

I need all the help I can get!

Here goes.

Day 1 Prompt 1;

“In honor of today’s interviewee, I’d like to challenge you to write a Kay-Ryan-esque poem: short, tight lines, rhymes interwoven throughout, maybe an animal or two, and, if you can manage to stuff it in, a sharp little philosophical conclusion.”

My response:

Nose-blowing days

The walk to school

is sweet

‘tho puddles soak

our hasty feet.

Rain batters, 

‘brollies’ tatter.

Perfect make-up runs

and streaks,

but then I see

your innocent glee,

finding a worm, squirm

on the path.

The bird on highest

bough sounds

the roll call

as we scuttle past.

These hand-holding, 

nose-blowing

days pass

too fast.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Nose-blowing Days

    1. Thank-you Phil, as you know, I have no idea what I’m doing on the poetry front, especially when copying another poet’s style (?!). Thank-you for taking half an hour of your time to post the kind comment 🙂 PS I hope Sue likes it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

