What a wonderful gesture

blog10

I’d like to thank Smitha at Silver Linings for nominating me for this award. I’m fairly new to the blogging world so when I received my nomination I had to check twice to see that I had read it correctly! Smitha and I “met” whilst completing the Napowrimo challenge, recently. During which time, she sent wonderful words of support and encouragement, for which I am eternally grateful. Her posts on Silver Linings are uplifting and very touching, please visit her beautiful blog and see for yourself. The way she presents her work is a masterclass to us all; Silver Linings Smitha V

So here is what I must do now I’ve been nominated for the award;

RULES OF THE VERSATILE BLOGGER AWARD:

  • Thank the bloggers who nominated you and share their links.
  • Nominate at least 10 bloggers for the award and provide links to their blogs. Also, inform them about the nomination.
  • Reveal 7 facts about yourself that your readers may not know.

 

7 Fun Facts about me:

blog2

 

  • I once met Prince Charles (sadly it was his first public appearance after the death of Princess Diana) to lighten the mood, he asked me if he was delaying our lunchtime by being there. I replied “Yes, there will be a stampede to the restaurant once you’ve gone”. He laughed; nice man.

 

  • I went to the same school and drama class as Julie Hesmondhalgh, who played Hayley in Coronation Street. The school was in Accrington, where Jeanette Winterson OBE, author of “Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit” grew up. If anyone is interested in how life in a Lancashire Mill Town was in the 1970’s, read her later book “Why Be Happy When You Can Be Normal” it’s scarily accurate. I thought I was reading my life story!

 

  • Comedian Jim Bowen presented my High School Awards in English Literature to me when I was 12 years old. He shook my hand and said his famous catchphrase “Super, smashing, great.”

 

  • I was filmed by the BBC on a trip to the local tip. My partner and I were clearing out the remains of a kitchen ceiling. I had cement dust in my hair, dirt on my face and was wearing my scruffiest clothes, when a cameraman thrust his camera into our faces and asked if we would be interviewed. Of course we agreed! (Check out “Money For Nothing” on BBC iPlayer episode 9). 

Original Windsurfing regattas & photos

 

  • I had to be rescued by a speedboat off the coast of The Isle Of Man, in the North Sea, whilst learning to windsurf. I stood on the board, lifted the sail and the wind carried me out to sea. I didn’t know how to stop it, I was too scared to let go, the wind kept blowing and off I went.

 

  • I have a Children’s Picture Book due to be published on 7th September 2017, which I wrote whilst on a creative writing course called “Learn To Write Like Roald Dahl”. It isn’t in the Dahl league but a local publisher liked it enough to take a chance on publishing this yet unknown writer, and to them I am forever grateful. It’s a dream come true.

blog 21

 

  • My final fact is a cheat; two facts rolled into one: I have two beautiful children whom I adore and a very handsome fiance who is my world… and I live by the following rule “Always believe something wonderful is about to happen”… and do you know what? It always does.

 

My Nominees:

The Laughing Housewife

discoveringsooz

unclephilsblog

 

Thank-you again Smitha, just as your name says, you made me smile xxx

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “What a wonderful gesture

  1. Wow Nicola. First, thank you for your very kind words. Second, I am so glad to have nominated you…your facts make you some kind of a celebrity😊. Third, maybe, actually it should be on top of my list, congratulations on your book👏👏👌. Fourth, I enjoyed reading all your facts. I am sharing this post😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

